• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Windows wont close program

This topic is 3735 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all I am quite new in the world of OpenGL and Windows Programming and I have a very annoying problem. I have been following some examples from the book "OpenGL Game Programming", but when I compile my program it takes a lot longer than the one supplied on the disc also when I press the "X"-button in the windows window it wont shut down. The only way is to right click the program in the task bar and say "Close" or the hard way: Task Manager. I have been trying to debug this for a long time now and I cant seem to find the error so if any kind soul would look at file at www.beechwood.dk/Engine.rar (Visual Studio '05 project) and tell me what the problem is I would be ever gratefull. Also as a little side question: Is it possible to debug C++ programs in VS just as you can with C# with breakpoints and all that ? Thank you, Beechwood

Advertisement
Show us your 'WndProc' window handler. If you fail to call DefWndProc for any messages you don't handle (and some that you do) then the window won't behave properly, including not shutting down when you try to close it.

Quote:
Original post by Beechwood
Also as a little side question: Is it possible to debug C++ programs in VS just as you can with C# with breakpoints and all that?

Of course. By default, VS should produce a debug build. Run this from the IDE after compiling by pressing F5 (or any of a variety of other ways) to start it with debugging. Breakpoints work exactly as you are used to.

Admiral