• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tmr_tommyz

Collision geometry

This topic is 3944 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This thread http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=469752 raised question in my head. Someone maybe knows how dense is collision geometry in games like Halo, Price of Persia, Rayman, Kao the Kangoroo or something similar? Is player volume colliding with 2-3 triangles at once or more like 10? I'm asking this because I found out that colliding with more that 2-3 triangles/edges at once is very tricky even with swept spheres - and without some smart pruning it's often unplayable(player sticking to walls due to wrong resolution of 10 contacts pointing 360 degree around). Maybe I'm not that good at this stuff, but I'm curious if AAA games handles this in smart way using 10k likes of code, or they have just perf collision geometry and player is relatively small comparing to collision geometry triangles, colliding at once only with few of them?

Advertisement
I think a lot of games are designed in such a way that it is unlikely or impossible for the player volume to collide with more than, say, 3 planes at once. Because it is a hard problem. But, 3 planes isn't the same as 3 triangles. Some collision systems have the ability to take a complex collision manifold (e.g., colliding with 10 triangles) and reason about it...simplifying the collision manifold down to just a very few important contact points. Pierre Terdiman and Adam Moravanszky wrote an article about this in one of the Game Programming Gems books (#4 I think). You might find that article useful. It certainly can be a challenge, maybe not possible, to completely eliminate the possibility of the player getting stuck.

You should limit your collision testing as much as posible.