• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
antoder

Help with RPG game

This topic is 4059 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, Im pretty new to game programing in general and would like to break out a few things i wanna know more about. :D First, whats the best way to make an "animated" walk with an character in a game (2d)? My goal is to make an simple rpg game, and i want to make an nice animation when you walk, Ive seen it before done with 4-5 pictures of the char backwards / leg up backwards / leg down middle forward leg up forward leg down I got no idea how to do it in an nice way tho, any ideas? My second problem is how to structure up the "map" I'm not going to add any 3d stuff just plane simple 2d, but you should be able to move up / down to.. So my first idea was to build an checked map, so i could add events to each square on the map. This i have no idea to do either, i came up with a few examples but they didn't quite work so good in the end. Thanks! :) [Edited by - antoder on November 1, 2007 2:57:06 PM]

Advertisement
If you're using 2d then I think you should look into a sprite engine. Basically you would have an image that contained a frame for each position that you described. In your case 5 frames. For example the frame 'backwards/leg up' could be at (100,20) width=15, height=20 inside the image. Every cycle of the game loop you would change what frame was displayed.

I'm assuming you will be using tiles for your maps. Maps in their simplist form are just 2d arrays

struct TILE
{
int type;
int walkable;
}

struct MAP
{
TILE map[100][100]; // a 100 by 100 tile map
}

What exactly do you find puzzling about creating animations? Drawing them? Displaying them? Or something else?