• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

[Solved!] Help: C's fopen() is not accepting my variables as parameters!

This topic is 3731 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm in the process of refreshing my C knowledge with "Absolute Beginner's Guide to C" (very good book if you want a short primer!) and I just reached file handling. Here I have a really big problem: The "fopen()" library function of C which must be used to open any sequential file takes two parameters, the file name and the mode which the file should be opened. Then it should return a pointer to the file (or file Descriptor) if it could open the file successfully. Example: pFilePointer = fopen("MyFile.txt", "r"); Here's the function's prototype: FILE *fopen(const char *filename, const char *mode); Now what I want to do, is ask the user in a simple program if he wants to (R)ead from, (W)rite to or (A)ppend to a file. Then I am asking the user for the file name and storing his answer in a regular character array (string) called fileName. However, when I try to open the file with fopen() like this: -------------------------- FILE * pFilePointer; char[255] fileName; char[3] fileMode; <snip code for getting fileMode and FileName strings form user> pFilePointer = fopen(fileName, fileMode); -------------------------- I don't get the needed file pointer but NULL in return! If I replace the line to this: pFilePointer = fopen("testfile.dat", "w"); everything works just fine and peachy! Even if I enter "testfile.dat" as input for the file name when running the program as a user and have the file name printed to double-check, the file name really is "testfile.dat" but fopen does NOT return a pointer to it if I don't specify the file name hard-coded in a literal string like this: "testfile.dat" :-(( I've tried putting a '&' and a '*' in front of fileName but that jus