• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Plethora

Can I make my own music?

This topic is 3909 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

To be more precise, can I make worthwhile game music considering I have never played an instrument in my life, haven't the slightest idea how to read music, etc, etc.? Originally I wouldn't have even considered it, but lately the idea has popped into my head based on the fact that I am no artist, but with significant time and effort I've created original artwork (in the form of sprites) for my first full game and am rather pleased with the results (many of the sprites are of a non-trivial size as well, just for the record). But I've done some googling and searching here, and it seems that there is not nearly the support in the form of tutorials and what not for novice music makers than I was able to find when I was starting out with my artwork. So is the music end of things that much harder? Should I really not even try and just try to find stuff on the web?

Advertisement
You could check out ModPlug which is what's known as a tracker. Basically you give it a bunch of samples and you can tell it to play those samples and various pitches and various times, thus creating music :). I didn't find it too hard to work out, but then I can play an instrument and was familiar with various other music programs before I used it. Google for 'ModPlug tutorial' or something and see what you can find (you could try 'tracker tutorial' as well, no reason you must use ModPlug).

Fruity Loops is another option, it's definetely something a non-musical person could get into and make half decent sounding stuff quickly.

Coming from someone who has been studying music for a long time: