• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Very Very Beginning ...

This topic is 3730 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all (my first post). I want to make a online game at 3rd view (GTA view, Bloodrayne ...etc). I want to make it online. I have a few questions: -> It is very hard to start to make such a game without a engine. What engine I should use ? I am thinking at http://www.blender.org www.3dgamestudio.com -> What should I use ? OpenGL or DirectX -> I am a beginner in game programming and C++ so I will need some tutorials. Where I should find the easyest tutorials ? **I know that game programming isn't that easy , but I am patient

Advertisement
Quote:
I am a beginner in game programming and C++

If this is your first game you will get in over your head and frustrated quickly no matter how patient you are.

It sounds like you have something big in mind. You should start small pong is a classic, then you can progress into things like breakout, tetris, mario clones, small 3d games, etc.

Given that you are new to both C++ programming and game development, I think your best move would be to concentrate on learning C++. There is certainly nothing wrong with learning about DirectX and OpenGL but to attempt to learn everything at once will almost surely end in frustration. There is plenty you can do in terms of game development before you concern yourself with 3-d graphics and the subtleties of various engines.

If you have limited programming experience, I'd suggest taking a look at this review for Beginning C++ Game Programming - John Hattan's review towards the bottom is particularly enlightening. In my opinion, it provides an excellent structure for learning both C++ and game development fundamentals.

You might also consider taking a look at the C++ workshop forum.