Cannot load .x file Hierarchy

Started by
10 comments, last by TheAdmiral 16 years, 5 months ago
Hi Everyone, I am an absolute beginner, trying to develop a 3d viewer, importing models with animations from 3d studio in .x format. Following problem: I am able to load my x files with D3DXLoadMeshFromX but not with D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX. With the models provided in directX samples everything works fine in both ways. I need to load the hierarchy 'cause I need to display animation. No idea about possible reason! Can someone help? Thanks in advance, JI
Advertisement
You're doing something wrong or have a bad model. Need more information? Then give us more information!

How are you unable to successfully use D3DXLoadMeshFromHierarchy? Tell us any error codes that are returned and explain any relevant behaviour or lack thereof. If you think that all of this is in the ordinary then show us the shortest snippet of code that completely describes the problem area.

Admiral
Ring3 Circus - Diary of a programmer, journal of a hacker.
Hi Admiral,

thanks for answering. I know I've been vague, it's 'cause I dont have any clue about the problem.
The code I am using is basically the same as this sample:

http://www.toymaker.info/Games/html/load_x_hierarchy.html

I have been changing just some UI detail but the routine and classes I am using are the same.

It works fine with any DirectX sample model I tried, but not the custom ones I exported from 3D studio with PandaSoft; in this case D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX is returning < 0 (indicating Failure). I am able to load the same models if I load the x file without loading the hierarchy, so I guess there is same problem with the way the animation is being exported (I just ticked "include animation" when exporting).

Any guess?

Thanks for any help!

JI
In my experience, exporting X files is very fiddly. Producing something that D3DX is happy with seems to be the exception, rather than the rule.