Sign in to follow this  

Access violation .... the memory could not be read

This topic is 3677 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, A C++ application of mine occasionally procudes a sporadic access violation after running fine for hours. Since this error is so rare, it is very hard to catch it while running the program in the debugger. :( My only clue is an error message such as "Access violation! The instruction at 0xblahblahblah referenced memory at 0x00000blahblah. The memory could not be read." Now much to my shame I must confess that while I'm a relatively solid C/C++ coder, my assembler knowledge is very limited. Is there any way I can use the instruction/memory addresses provided by the error message to track down the bug? Can anyone give me a few pointers in the right direction? Do I need to put my executable through a disassembler or something like that?

Running your code through the debugger should give you a call stack you can use.

What's the actual address? If it's 0x00000000, or very close to zero), then that's almost certainly a null pointer somewhere.

Dissasembling your app probably won't give you any useful information.

Quote:
Original post by Red Ant
Hello,