Sign in to follow this  
jdub

Problem with C++ code

jdub    459
I am pretty new to using pointers. I tried to type up this simple function that would take an empty array and turn it into a deck of random cards: #include "stdafx.h" #include <iostream> #include <stdlib.h> #include <time.h> using namespace std; void newdeck(char *argrank[], char *argsuite[], int suitesize, int ranksize); int main(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[]) { srand(time(NULL)); } (void newdeck(char *argrank[], char *argsuite[], int suitesize, int ranksize) { char *suiteptr; suiteptr = argsuite; char *rankptr; rankptr = argrank; char *suite[] = {"suite1, suite2"}; char *rank[] = {"rank1" , "rank2"}; for (int suitex = 0; suitex < suitesize; suitex++){ *suiteptr = rand() % suitesize; suiteptr++; } for (int rankx = 0; rankx < ranksize; rankx++){ *rankptr = rand() % ranksize; rankptr++; } } vc++ express error code: 1>c:\documents and settings\owner\desktop\c++\cards\cards1.3workingversion\cards1.3workingversion\cards1.3workingversion.cpp(14) : warning C4244: 'argument' : conversion from 'time_t' to 'unsigned int', possible loss of data 1>c:\documents and settings\owner\desktop\c++\cards\cards1.3workingversion\cards1.3workingversion\cards1.3workingversion.cpp(22) : error C2440: '=' : cannot convert from 'char **__w64 []' to 'int *' 1> Types pointed to are unrelated; conversion requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast 1>c:\documents and settings\owner\desktop\c++\cards\cards1.3workingversion\cards1.3workingversion\cards1.3workingversion.cpp(24) : error C2440: '=' : cannot convert from 'char **__w64 []' to 'int *' 1> Types pointed to are unrelated; conversion requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast All help is appreciated.

jyk    2094
Hi,