Sign in to follow this  
Marchosias

Programming: Is it within reach for me?

Marchosias    122
I've been trying to learn C# since 2005, trying to program applications and games, but it doesn't seem I am progressing at all. My question is: Should I give up? Or should I continue and keep wasting my time? On weekends I usually spend 12 hours on a single day, trying to learn from books and experimenting, yes I'm seeing no progress. I'm still not able to make anything I couldn't have made when I opened my first C# book. It's really frustrating, what's stopping me? Why can't I advance? Do I have a learning disability? Is this a common problem for people who are trying to be self-taught? One of my problems is, I can read entire page and then when it comes time to answer the questions for that chapter, I don't know them. I can look them up in the book, but then I forget them right afterwards. Are some people incapable of being programmers? Would it help if I tried a different language?

TheMimic    133
Hi. I'm a completely self taught programmer as well. I've experienced your same problems. The key is practice. You can read all you want and you can copy examples from your book and compile but the only way to truly learn is to start and complete original projects(even as simple as hangman, tic-tac-toe, or guess the number).

Its easy to think programming is harder than it really is when you are first learning. Just open a blank source file and start writing code and you'll find that it isn't all that hard. Keep at it and before you know it you will have a completed project and a deeper understanding of programming.

jyk    2094
A couple of things: