Sign in to follow this  

Help with Inheritance "error: expected class-name before '' token"

This topic is 3667 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Guys, I am new to this forum and site and hence I may be doing a few things wrong so pardon me if you find i'm doing stuff wrong. Anyway I am new to C plus plus but I have have a very good Java background so I understand most of the concepts. My problem is to do with inheritance. I have two classes in a project called SanthiProject i.e. the base class is called vehicle and the derived class is called boat which are both saved in different cpp files. The thing is when I compile I get the error message below "..\boat.h:9: error: expected class-name before '{' token". The funny thing is I have two other classes in a different project(Helloworld Project) where one derives from the other but that works fine. The only difference between the two projects is that in the base class in the SanthiProject has a virtual function called " virtual message(void)" which the derived class overides. I dont think that this should make a difference but it seems to. Also when I add the boat class code to the vehicle.cpp file and have the boat class derive from the vehicle class in the same cpp file, it works with no problems at all. Please can Some one help me cos I have no idea what I am doing wrong and I've trawled the web but cant seem to find any anwers. I am using eclipse 3.3 and the tool chain is MinGW 3.4.5. The compiler output is below **** Build of configuration Debug for project SanthiProject **** **** Internal Builder is used for build **** g++ -O2 -g -Wall -c -fmessage-length=0 -oboat.o ..\boat.cpp In file included from D:/C Files 02.03.2007/Program Files/MinGW/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/3.4.5/../../../../include/c++/3.4.5/backward/iostream.h:31, from ..\boat.cpp:5: D:/C Files 02.03.2007/Progra