Sign in to follow this  

[.net] Save and Load treeView nodes using a text file and how to filter data

This topic is 3663 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I am a newb in Visual C++ Express Edition 2005. I am having trouble of saving treeView nodes into a TEXT file. For details, I will explain below: My application is a company data application. It consists of a treeView and a listView. Nodes of the treeView represent the company name and employee name only. So the treeView looks like this: -ALL -Microsoft -Robert -Tony -IBM -Johny -Apple -Gary It only store like that. The listView display all details of each person above. Company Name | Employee Name | Age |Gender | Address | City | ZIP | Phone ========================================================== Microsoft | Robert | 30 | Male | 1 ABC | Seattle | 64543 | 355135 Microsoft | Tony | 25 | Male | 1 DEF | Seattle | 64543 | 1343141 IBM | Johnny | 44 | Male | 1 XYZ | NY | 1235 | 355135 Apple | Gary | 23 | Male | 1 PQR | LA | 12344 | 363588 So it looks like that. The listView items will be saved to a text file with CSV format which are: Company name,employee name,age,gender,address,city,ZIP,phone So it is like this: Microsoft,Robert,30,Male,1 ABC,Seattle,64543,355135 Microsoft,Tony,25,Male,1 DEF,Seattle,64543,1343141 IBM,Johnny,44,Male,1 XYZ,NY,1235,355135 Apple,Gary,23,Male,1 PQR,LA,12344,363588 1. The PROBLEM is the treeView nodes MUST also saved to this file. How to do that? Or if anybody have ever tried this can I have the code copy? And how to load it when the application started? I have succeeded in saving and loading the listView items. 2. How to do this: If I click the company name on the treeView, for example Microsoft, then the listView will FILTER that ONLY Microsoft and its employee data will be shown up on the listView. If I click the employee name on the treeVie