Sign in to follow this  

Poor Game making fellow

This topic is 3626 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm pretty new to developing, i'm really an artist but i used game maker to create my space shooter, The game is completed and everything i wanted the characters to do they do, i wanted to submit it to the game showcase but im too poor to afford the membership fee, i made a one stage demo if any one is interested, http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NVWWPKWS I was paranoid people would just steal my ideas and characters thats why i made the demo small, but the game is complete 9 stages 9 bosses 2 modes boss mode and standard mode. I really don't know what to do with it maybe i'll make the complete version available soon after i feel totally hopeless or maybe not.

Quote:
Original post by "ilcamnim"
(1) i wanted to submit it to the game showcase but im too poor...
(2) I was paranoid people would just steal my ideas...
(3) I really don't know what to do with it...

1. Well, if you can't afford even that, you just need to sit on your ideas and develop them in private until you can afford to take further steps. And there are probably cheaper competitions you can enter your game in.
2. Sounds to me like you still are! Read http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson39.htm and I recommend the book Patent, Copyright & Trademark; An Intellectual Property Desk Reference by Stephen Elias & Richard Stim. Nolo.com (Nolo Press), ISBN 0-87337-601-3
3. It depends. What do you want to do? Do you want to get a job in the game industry, or do you want to become famous as the guy who created this one brilliant game, or what? The end goal determines the steps. To get to the Emerald City, take the Yellow Brick Road. To get to Los Angeles, take Interstate 10.