Sign in to follow this  
RavNaz

Game idea/design wanted ..

Hi guys, I'm after a game idea/design to demonstrate my engine. I program games for a living, so something more meaty than your tetris/break-out clones is required. Note: I am no good at thinking up game design ideas.....hence me asking :-) It needs to be minimal in terms of art assets. Initially I started doing a top down shooter ( space marine on deserted spacestations ), and got quite far, but what it really needs is animations and things on the models ( currently it's a small sphere for the avatar, that kills wandering eyeballs ), as well as more complex scenery. As I'm not an artist, it's kind of a no go. All the ideas I come up with are all too ambitious in terms of the art required, which I could not do myself, my max skills are basic. I'm kind of tempted to do a shootem up ( spaceship stylee ), as I could model a basic ship/ships and get that working..... I'm also tempted to do an rpg/dungeon crawl, although I cant see how to do that without loads of art/animation to make it good. My engine has most of the trimmings, input/sound/shader-based/max exporter etc..., so all those bases are more or less covered. I put this request in this forum as I'm not in need of someone to do any work, I want some game ideas and thought this forum would be better, although feel free to move/recommmend the move to the help wanted section. any help would be appreciated. I would post some screenies of what I've currently got, but I dont have a website....can I embed screenshots in the thread?? and how do I do this?

Since most indie developers become developers for the sole purpose of expressing their own idea, I doubt you'll get a lot of great ideas here.

Why not use other games for ideas? That's what the rest of us do.