• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dingojohn

OpenGL SlimDX: Device creation question

This topic is 3823 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I'm currently digging into C# SlimDX and I now have a question regarding the construction of a device. Note that I am also new to MDX and D3D in general; all prior 3d work has been done in OpenGL, and I guess this question could just as easily apply to MDX. Reading the "CreateDevice" tutorial in the docs, I stumbled upon this:
public static void InitializeD3D()
        {
            // Create a new PresentParameters object and fill in the necessary fields.
            PresentParameters presentParams = new PresentParameters();

// Below are the required bare mininum, needed to initialize the D3D device.
            presentParams.BackBufferHeight = Window.ClientRectangle.Height;         // BackBufferHeight, set to  the Window's height.
            presentParams.BackBufferWidth = Window.ClientRectangle.Width;           // BackBufferWidth, set to  the Window's width.
            presentParams.DeviceWindowHandle = Window.Handle;                       // DeviceWindowHandle, set to  the Window's handle.

// Create the device.
            D3DDevice = new Device(0, DeviceType.Hardware, Window.Handle, CreateFlags.HardwareVertexProcessing, presentParams);
        }