Dev C++ help strings?

Started by
5 comments, last by NibbIe 16 years, 3 months ago
Hi I am a very new c++ programmer (I started yesterday) and I have found that dev c++ is an alright program for me I was mucking around trying to get a better understanding of C++ and I came across a few tutorials on using strings I have tried to put strings into a test program but it doesn't seem to work and I have no idea how to make it work could sombody please help me? the error is: `class string' used where a `int' was expected the code is: #include <string> #include <iostream> using namespace std; int main() { int number; int number2=2; int determine; string result; string result2; result="hi"; result2="bye"; cout << "Hello World!" << endl; cout << "Press a 1 or a 3 to continue..." << endl; cin>>number; determine=(number>number2)? result:result2; cout << determine; cout <<"\n"; system ("PAUSE"); return 0; }
Advertisement
determine should be a std::string because this expression determine=(number>number2)? result:result2 returns a string(result or result2).
You have int determine. Perhaps you meant string determine?

In any future posts, please observe the following:

- Surround code with CODE tags. This preserves indentation and formatting, allowing us to read your code. You'll get more responses if you do so.
- Do not use the words "doesn't work". It's great in casual conversation, but in technical posts, is a completely meaningless phrase. You need to describe precisely what your observations were, and what you actually expected to see. Don't diagnose the problem, just your observations and expectations. We'll figure out the rest.

Cprogramming.com and cplusplus.com are good online tutorials. Honestly, I would recommend a good book. C++ Primer by Lippman and Accelerated C++ by Koenig accurately depict Modern C++ so I recommend either (or both) of those.

Feel free to ask any other questions you have.
thankyou very much