Sign in to follow this  

colour-keying a non-homogeneous surface (GIMP experts here?)

This topic is 3630 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

How do I fix a sprite with a non-homogeneous colour key background. This usually happens because the sprite is graphically made to blend in with the background. E.g. if the sprite is a black stealth fighter and the background is white, then the edges of the stealth fighter will be greyish. It also happens when people save sprites as jpegs and screw up the colour. Here is an example: http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/3738/mydotshy2.png The top left dots are bmp dots and let's say my background is blue. So I set a white colour key and blit the dots. The bottom left image shows the result. But the top right image is the same dots in jpeg. Seems to look the same, but this time if I set my colour key as white then the whitish blobs will remain there over the blue background, because they're not exactly 0xffffff. I don't mind if the object blends in with a certain bg colour around the edges and whatnot. I would basically like to know how to make it blend in with a different bg colour using the GIMP or some other tool. So that if my background is blue and my object is black, then if it's bluish-black around the edges then that's ok, and would actually look more realistic. Thanks for any suggestions,

I wouldn't use JPEG. It looks good for rectangular photographs, but the way it compresses its data (to save space. for an example, compare any bmp with an identical jpeg.) makes strange dots go all over. It won't even save a black and white picture correctly!

Use PNG or BMP (preferably PNG: it has smaller filesizes) for your sprites. I haven't found any extraneous dots on a picture with either format.

Now as for fixing those images... I do it by hand and chastise myself for not saving in PNG!