Sign in to follow this  

error C2065 : D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND

This topic is 3626 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

The Opening and the Greeting : Greetings all, my name is John and I am new to the GameDev forums. Now that I have introduced myself and greeted everyone, I shall get to my issue[s] at hand. Thanks to all in Advance. First, to the point, then some background info. The Effort : I am trying to animate a transparent 2D sprite on a background image. The Code : Here is the exact [snippet of] code that I am using :

//start rendering
        if (d3ddev->BeginScene())
        {
            //erase the entire background
            d3ddev->StretchRect(back, NULL, backbuffer, NULL, D3DTEXF_NONE);

//start sprite handler
            sprite_handler->Begin(D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND);

//create vector to update sprite position
	        D3DXVECTOR3 position((float)kitty.x, (float)kitty.y, 0);

//draw the sprite
            sprite_handler->Draw(
                kitty_image[kitty.curframe], 
                NULL,
                NULL,
                &position,
                D3DCOLOR_XRGB(255,255,255));

//stop drawing
            sprite_handler->End();

//stop rendering
        d3ddev->EndScene();
    }

The Issue[s] : These are the errors I get with ANY code using D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND :
Quote:
Deleting intermediate files and output files for project 'trans_sprite - Win32 Debug'. --------------------Configuration: trans_sprite - Win32 Debug-------------------- Compiling... dxgraphics.cpp game.cpp c:\gamebook\trans_sprite\game.cpp(120) : error C2065: 'D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND' : undeclared identifier c:\gamebook\trans_sprite\game.cpp(131) : error C2660: 'Draw' : function does not take 5 parameters winmain.cpp Error executing cl.exe. trans_sprite.exe - 2 error(s), 0 warning(s)