Sign in to follow this  

DirectInput and Windows messages

This topic is 3626 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi! I'm new at this great forum, so this is my first post. Hi everyone!! :D I'm quite familiar with DirectInput setting up (creating DirectInput interface, creating devices, ...) but I really don't know what to do about Windows message queue. If I use DirectInput for managing user input, does it mean that I have to completely forget about managing Windows messages? Should I not call TranslateMessage and DispatchMessage?? An example: while (1) { if (PeekMessage(&msg, NULL, 0, 0, PM_REMOVE)) { if(msg.message == WM_QUIT) break; TranslateMessage(&msg); DispatchMessage(&msg); ProcessKBInput(); Render(); } else { } } Here I manage keyboard input with ProcessKBInput() function and manage Direct3D stuff with Render() function. My other question is: are ProcessKBInput() and Render() calls well where they are? Should I move them to the "else" part of the loop? Where should I call this functions? I hope was clear. Thank you very much for your help! Keep up this good work!! ;)

You are only handling input and rendering when a message has been recieved, but you probably want to do this every frame, like so:

while (1)
{
if (PeekMessage(&msg, NULL, 0, 0, PM_REMOVE))
{
if(msg.message == WM_QUIT)
break;

TranslateMessage(&msg);
DispatchMessage(&msg);
}
ProcessKBInput();
Render();
}

Quote:
If I use DirectInput for managing user input, does it mean that I have to completely forget about managing Windows messages? Should I not call TranslateMessage and DispatchMessage??

I'm pretty sure the answer is no (after all, not all messages are input messages), but what you should do is completely forget about DirectInput for handling keyboard and mouse input (you can still use it for joysticks). Here's why.