• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jsl

Need your professional opinion

This topic is 3819 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a computer software professional and a long time MMORPG player, I really love MMORPG, but have never been able to get a position in the computer gaming industry in my area (there basically no MMORPG company in my area). Develop a game I like has been my dream for few years. I talked with a investor friend last week about my dream, they are also like MMORPG market. Even they have never invested in the gaming industry, they are still willing to participate if I decide to start building my own game with a solid design. Since I have never worked on any computer game related project. I need your help to make up my mind. This is the basic idea. I have informally designed the economy system and crafting system, since those two systems are what I really like to be improved in my game, but has no idea about story line yet. So I will partner with one game designer and one system architect to start up a company, spend 6 months to a year finish up content design and system architecture design. Then outsource all the graphic works to a third party company, and build up a team offshore to do all the of coding job. I am confident that I can start to make my dream come true. In your professional view, do you think I can do this in reality? Any idea to help me make my dream come true? By the way, any of you know the size of the Star Wars Galaxies team? thanks JSL

Advertisement
Quote:
Since I have never worked on any computer game related project. I need your help to make up my mind.

Don't make an MMORPG.

Ask yourself: Can you build a spaceship?