• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
devronious

SlimDX status?

This topic is 3984 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Advertisement
SlimDX has nice support for D3D10. I've been using it for over 3 months now.

Some methods havn't yet been implemented, but when interest is made in them, they are usually implemented pretty quickly. Also, any bugs found (very few so far) are also fixed very quickly. Props to jpetrie on the excellent work.

Sirob,

I have desire to use SlimDX and if possible mod the code to my personal needs. I'm not sure how the code license works though for this item. What can I do with this. I would like to learn about wrappers and how to make them myself so that someday, if needed, I could help with it, and/or make my own.

So three questions for that: Can I get the code and/or mod it? Is there a tut on creating wrappers for c++ DirectX? And is that what SlimDX is? I don't really know what a wrapper is. I'm guessing it's a DotNet library made out of c++ that allows managed code to run the c++ counterparts of the DirectX SDK library.

-Devin

SlimDX uses an extremely generous license that basically allows you to use the source code in any way you wish. Check out the license here. You can download the source from the Google project page.

As for your other question, SlimDX is indeed a managed wrapper around native DirectX. It uses a language called C++/CLI, which is sort of a hybrid between the purely managed C# and the purely native C++, and is used almost exclusively for creating wrappers just like SlimDX. You probably won't be able to find any good tutorials on how to make managed wrappers around native code libraries, but the process is relatively straightforward.

Quote: