• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
musafir2007

Where to code C++ program??

This topic is 3901 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I am completely new to c++. I am trying to teach myself. What kind of program can I download (preferably free) to write/simulate C++ program? Thanks!

Advertisement
Simulate a C++ program? I don't understand what you mean.

If you want to learn C++, check out C++: A Dialog and Thinking in C++. The already-linked Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition is basically the best you'll get for free in terms of IDE (Integrated Development Environment — a fancy text-editor and a compiler) and is likely to be all you need for any hobby project (IMHO, YMMV, etc).

Also, consider whether you really want to learn C++. There are other languages where you won't need to deal with some of the 'boilerplate' code that's necessary with a relatively low-level language like C++. Have you looked into languages like Python or C#?

^^^ thanks guys! I download the Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition.. haven't tried it yet though.
TheUnbeliever, thanks for the suggestion but I think I am gonna start with C++.. I have done a lot of research and ended up with this decision. Thanks for the books link too, but I am gonna be using Absolute C++. Let me know if that's a bad idea?
thanks!

nice choice musafir2007!!!

just dont give up if you find it a little hard to learn...

i also suggest deitel's C++ how to program...this book really teaches you about c++

Quote:
Original post by musafir2007
I am gonna be using Absolute C++. Let me know if that's a bad idea?
thanks!

It is a bad idea.

First read "Accelerated C++", by Koenig and Moo. Work through the example problems.
Then read "Effective C++" by Meyers. Work through the example problems.