• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Nositi

Characters following my tile, trig in 3D

This topic is 3988 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone. I'm very very new to OpenGL and dealing with anything in 3D, and I'm having a slight problem visualizing how to apply trig in 3D. I didn't think that what I was trying to create is quite isometric, but I was direced here from the OpenGL forum. Anyway, I'm trying to create an isometric tile map that can be rotated on the z axis. I'm using OpenGL, and here's how I'm setting things up:
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
glOrtho(-400.0f, 400.0f, -300.0f, 300.0f, -1000.0f, 1000.0f);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();

glRotatef(-60.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
glRotatef(zrot + 45.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);

(zrot increases/decreases when I press left/right) So my first rotation should rotate my z axis "upwards", so that it's 30 degrees off of where my y axis was, and my y axis "downwards", 30 degrees off of where the z was. Then I rotate 45 on the z so that the x and y look like this: http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/5406/axesne0.png After doing this I can draw a couple tiles like so:
glColor3f(1.0, 1.0, 0.0);
glBegin(GL_QUADS);
	glVertex3f(-100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f(100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f(100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f(-100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f);

glVertex3f(101.0f, 101.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f(301.0f, 101.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f(301.0f, 301.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f(101.0f, 301.0f, 0.0f);
glEnd();