• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
KilJaedon

Opinions / suggestions

This topic is 3988 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

After reading some of the 'for beginners' stickies and many of the links within, I've decided to go with C++. I have a degree in electrical engineering and therefore I know a fair amount of programming in Perl, Java and c++ (though the latter is not as strong as I would like it to be....) So, knowing this, does anyone have suggestions on whether or not to use a GDK like 'Dark GDK' that is an option with Visual C++ express? It seems like it could be a helping hand but may also hide important aspects of the language as well.... Also, Will the express version of Visual Studio have the functionality I need to make simple games? It looks like it from the GDK examples, so I would like to know if anyone else uses Express and is successful with it. By the way my ultimate goal is to *eventually* complete a side scrolling action/strategy hybrid in the vein of ActRaiser. Thanks and I look forward to becoming part of the community!

Advertisement
First of all, welcome to forums! :)

I think you are able to do a simple games with your express version, but I really recommend getting a commercial version. Isn't the express version limited to some .Net stuff and some other stuff..? read the documentation.

Quote:
Original post by Arex
I think you are able to do a simple games with your express version, but I really recommend getting a commercial version. Isn't the express version limited to some .Net stuff and some other stuff..? read the documentation.
No. Go read the documentation yourself before making such a potentially expensive suggestion to a beginner again. The 2005 Express Edition needed the Platform SDK as a seperate install to do Win32 development, but this is no longer an issue with the 2008 edition.