• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Juksosah

I need to animate a character.. help !

This topic is 3796 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm fairly new to game programming and I must animate a character. I''m trying to implement a basic movement like walking but my code ends up a total mess. Problems come from that animation is a sequential thing (ex : walking : move left foot ahead, then move it down, use rigth foot. etc.. etc.. etc..) but the game is a looping thing. Because of this loop I must do something like this :
walk (elapsedTime){

If (left leg < 15.0 degrees and leftRotation not done)
    Rotate left leg * speed * elapsedTime;
else
    leftRotationDone

//Now second part ...
If leftRotationDone

//third part

If ...

}
As you see it's pretty ugly and if the movement is a little complicated I will end up with a ton of if's. Is there something simpler to do ? Like dealing with time (after 1 sec. rotate 15 deg)? Could you clear the shroud in my head ? thanks

Advertisement
hey

Usually you visually animate your characters keyframes in a 3d editor, and then export the animation keyframes and such to use in ya game. One such program that is free, and that I recommend is Blender.

For basic forward kinematic skeletal animation you just interpolate between different matrices which represent each bone/joint in a parent/child hierarchy. Each vertex is assigned to one or more bones/joints, along with a weight. The weight idicates how much influence the bone/joint has on the vertex, in the case that it's shared/assigned to more than one bone. So for any vertex, if you sum the total weight of influence of each assigned bone/joint, it should equal 1. BTW, this process is known as Vertex Blending, or Skinning.