Sign in to follow this  
Malduster

Hello, Need some help.

Hi all, Im new at GameDev.net, so yeah this is also an introduction. I just bought a new MacBook yesterday, and now im interested in game design etc on it. Im some what familiar with coding but the only language I really know well is HTML. Anyway, I want a language that is comparatively easy, maybe like Java, and has good capabilities. Basically I want it to be a multi-platform game as well. I hate to see graphics that hurt my eyes, im not here planning to make some game with Crysis like graphics, but I dont want to make a game with really box like graphics either. Anyway, so to game development im what you call a COMPLETE noob. I have read several tutorials etc but nothing that really interested me or explained a lot. I was looking at this tool called Blender, but for some reason its a pain to get it to work I cant even follow the tutorials because everything works so differently on mine. Ok so I was thinking of Java, because I have some good experience with it aswell... but I got jME but under NO circumstances could I get it to work. (Yes I followed all the tutorials, I spent friday-sunday trying to get it to work a few weeks back on my PC) So can anyone tell me: What language; Including ALL the tools I would be needing to develop a full game. So yeah thats all I need to know. Thanks in advance! P.S. my post is so wierd i admit, nothing is in order... if u have any questions that might help you determine what tools would be right for me please post.

Sounds like you want to jump right into a 3D game. If you aren't a good programmer, then you have to use more "game creation" type tools.

There are too many options to list here.

I suggest you check out the Game Programming Wiki (gpwiki.org).

Blender has it's own little game engine, you could try that.

Thanks for your reply,