Sign in to follow this  
BrianV

Choosing a game engine for a MMOFPS

Hello everyone. I have a game idea in mind, and I am thinking of finally beginning to build it out into something a little more tangible than an idea. So, I am probing for opinions and advice over how to get started with this project. First off, I am new at game programming. While I have a CS degree and fairly extensive applications programming experience, I haven't done game programming previously. Secondly, the project I have in mind is huge. Without a doubt it is overly ambitious given my experience and the amount of 'hobby' time available. It would probably be overambitious given a team of 20 people and a multi-million dollar budget. However, Rome wasn't built in a day, and I don't expect to complete this project in several months or even years - it's more for my own personal gratification and experience than any real expectation of a usable result. So please, read the below with an open mind. Remember that I am a newcomer to game development, and if anything below sounds ridiculous enough to make you laugh, please point out my error! I would appreciate any engine suggestions or topics you suggest I research on in order to begin this project! ----- Disclaimers aside, the idea I have is a kind of massive multiplayer online FPS, similar to what is currently happening at http://www.wwiionline.com. It is not only meant to be an FPS, but to (eventually) allow the player to control aircraft and vehicles as well. I want to have a 'seamless' world - that is, users should never notice a lag or loading time when entering another part of the world. This includes users who will be flying and could conceivably cross large portions of the map in very short time. I also want to have a good physics system for projectiles. That is, projectiles will drop over distance, ricochet, cause realistic splash damage, and also interact with the other models in the environment. Tanks, ships, planes, and even people ideal