Sign in to follow this  
Mark_Tempe2

how do you make savegames on vista ?

sorry for such a nubi question but I am not a professional programmer. I am adopting my game to work on vista and I run in to problems . here is what (I think) I know : you can save the game in program file directory but all of the game saves must be in My Documents folder . To my knowledge path to my documents folder will be different on every computer because in the path there will be a user name , example : C:\Documents and Settings\(user name)\My Documents . Apparently there is a way to find the user name using : SHGetSpecialFolderLocation() with CSIDL_LOCAL_APPDATA unfortunately I have no idea how to do that . I am using VC ++ 6 and in documentation I have not found any thing like CSIDL_LOCAL_APPDATA I did search the net , this forum and other forums for the answer , unfortunately I did not come up with anything useful in solving this problem . Which is odd because this has to be a common problem for nubies . Perhaps I used wrong key words. I really appreciate help with this problem . here is the code I use to load and save one of my game files. save file : //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// FILE *pFile; pFile = fopen(SaveNameC,"wb"); fwrite (Cyngiel,sizeof(int),6,pFile); fwrite (SilaStrzaluTabela,sizeof(int),4,pFile); fwrite (KoordStrzalux,sizeof(int),20*6,pFile); fwrite (KoordStrzaluy,sizeof(int),20*6,pFile); fwrite (MatWturnaStrzalu,sizeof(int),8*8,pFile); fwrite (KooedynatyBlokow,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (KooedynatyBlokow2,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (WytrzymaloscBlokow,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (KoordynatExplozjix,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (KoordynatExplozjiy,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (OdliczKlatekiExpl,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (KoordynatBonusay,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (KoordynatBonusax,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (RodzajBonusa,sizeof(int),8,pFile); fwrite (ZmienneSaveLabirynt,sizeof(int),140,pFile); fclose (pFile); ////////////////