Sign in to follow this  
mgph

what book should I get ?

Hello....I'm currently studying in 1st year(1st semester) Bachelor of IT and I'm gonna take my exam of first programming subject about C (not yet C++ but in next term) tomorrow. So during my holidays, I want to learn some game programming books as I'm quite interested in games programming (that's one reason I chose the IT path and other is developing website) and I believe it'll also help me a lot for my C++ subject in next semester. The book the school recommended and I've studied so far is "Introduction to Programming with C++ fourth edition" and so, what book should I get and can study myself to get started in game programming ? appreciate for any suggestion and thanks in advance...

The book your school has recommended is a poor choice. Stick with Accelerated C++ and C++ Primer. The former is more of a tutorial book to teach you C++ idioms, while the latter is more of a reference book. If you go through both, you'll most likely be better informed than quite a number of other beginner C++ programmers.

I've read C++ Primer and Accelerated C++ and dont rate them very highly. Admittedly they're a bit basic for me, but from a purely objective point of view they just didn't teach me anything I wanted to know in a way that I could digest it very easily. I like my books to go down smooth ;-) I've also read a *lot* of C/C++ books (probably about 30+ books and counting), and I'm quite picky about what I learn from because I know that if I get the right book then I can learn a lot very quickly. It's all about personal taste, so be sure to read a few chapters of your book list before committing to your purchase(s).

If you want my advice then Thinking in C++ by Bruce Eckel is a very good book. Best of all, it's completely free and available in multiple formats from his website:
http://www.bruceeckel.com/