Sign in to follow this  
mnbvlk

socket help

how to create a socket ( in dev c++ 4.9.9.2) between my comp and 64.233.187.99 (which is google.com) i tried SOCKET sockfd; sockfd=socket(AF_INET,SOCK_STREAM,0); but does not know the meaning of various arguments i.e where to specify the ip address can anybody help please thanks in advance

This is a very good tutorial concerning linux sockets.
http://beej.us/guide/bgnet/
The socket() just creates a file descriptor.
Then you have to use the bind() command in which you give the ip and port number.
The tutorial says it all :P

thanks for the links

i have another question ( i am actually a beginner in networks)

can two networks placed far apart in different towns can be connected by a router

also is something exists like this == ip address of a router .if it exists , then what does it mean

again remember ( i am actually a beginner in networks so questions may be strange)

Quote:
Original post by mnbvlk
sorry , i forget to tell that iam working on windows xp and not linux
Beej's Guide is 99.9% relevant to WinSock too. The only differences I can think of offhand are that you need to call WSAStartup before making any socket calls, and the first argument to select() is ignored in WinSock.

Quote:
Original post by mnbvlk
thanks for the links

i have another question ( i am actually a beginner in networks)

can two networks placed far apart in different towns can be connected by a router

also is something exists like this == ip address of a router .if it exists , then what does it mean

again remember ( i am actually a beginner in networks so questions may be strange)

are my questions strange??????????

Quote:
Original post by mnbvlk
Yes they can. Although they're likely to be connected by several routers (This is essentially how the Internet works).

Quote:
Original post by mnbvlk