Sign in to follow this  
Triba

Game Design External Input

At the recommendation of Trapper Zoid, I decided I'd attempt to salvage something of Pirate_Lord's thread. So, a question to all industry designers, how much input (and what type) do programmers and artists have when it comes to designing a game?

I thought that Triba's question had the potential to salvage something from that thread, so I'd typed up a reply just before it got closed. Since I had the reply already written I PMed it over to Triba, so I'll post it again here with a little bit of editing.

Quote:
Original post by Triba
It's encouraging to see that designers do function as an autonomous role. I would really like to know, from those designers here, how much input the graphics and programming departments have in the design themselves?

I'm not a professional designer, have been out of the game industry for years and was only in it professionally very briefly as a junior programmer. But from my experience on one game, I'd say we programmers had a small but significant influence on the design, mostly in the areas we were creating ourselves. In my case I was making extra graphical and user interface options that could have been safely cut if they didn't work out (thankfully they did), but I was able to make suggestions on how they could be extended for extra functionality. The A.I. programmer was able to make suggestions on improvements or necessary cutbacks that had to be made to the enemy A.I., and so on.

I wouldn't describe it as "design by committee"; it was more like cooks in a large kitchen; we all had our own prescribed roles and expertise and could make suggestions in our area and the designer (head chef in the metaphor) would listen to our opinions; but we'd do what the designer said if he went against it.