Dessign patterns poker game

Started by
3 comments, last by Eternal 16 years, 2 months ago
Hey, I am a multimedia student. For a project we have to create a poker game (texas hold'em) in 3D. At this moment we are analyzing the game. When we were drawing the class diagram we thought it could be usefull to use design patterns. Only i'm not such an expert in design patterns. May be someone can help us defining the patterns we could use in a texas hold'em poker game. For example could the decorator pattern be usefull to decorate a player object like a dealer, small or big blind. I hope someone can help!
Advertisement
The position of the big blind, small blind and dealer is a property of the table (so that it remains in place even if a player leaves while being one of them).

I'd say the game representation (cards, players, tables, pots, stacks) is pretty straightforward to get. The actual trouble appears when you start implementing the "who won?" algorithm.
Quote:Original post by ToohrVyk
The actual trouble appears when you start implementing the "who won?" algorithm.

Well, isn't that just a question of "who has the best hand?". Evaluating different hands isn't that tough since there is a limited amount of different hands and you'll just need to find the best.

One way to evaluate the hand is to put the cards in a 2D table where x is the suit and y is the card rank (ace should be regarded as 1 and 14). You can use additional tables for speeding up some of the evaluations.

I made an evaluator object which contained the following rule objects:

RoyalFlush
StraightFlush
Four of a kind
Fullhouse
Flush
Straight
Three of a kind
Two pair
One Pair
High Card

For example:

Fullhouse : Find a rank with 3 cards and a rank with 2 cards both starting from the highest. If found, then add those play hand.

Three of a kind : Find a rank with 3 cards starting from the highest. If found, then add those three cards and 2 highest available cards to the play hand.