Sign in to follow this  
Damageinc84

Golf Course Project.

Hi guys, New to the boards. I was looking around and can't find a good answer for my problem. I'm looking to map out a Golf course. What is the fastest was to create a 3d model of an existing couse. Is it done by GPS? I'm looking to make a Golf game and need to quickly get a course up. I just need to figure out where and what do I do with the data to get a course up and running. I am new to the Game Dev World and just looking to make a small project.

Since I can't let a question that I can help answer be unposted I'll help you out a little.

0. GPS can only do rendering calculations from your API. (DirectX, OpenGL) OpenGL I am some what good at. GPS does not frame your game. Maybe a shader code, but for Physics and what not you need some APIs to help.

1. What API and or Language are you using?

2. Have you programmed before? Ever?

3. The best method for to model a gulf course since your new is too use a 3d modeling app and create textures for it then get a model loader going with a texture loader.

I have a search engine on this stuff.

3D Modeling Apps - A few are for free and some arnt.

Since and I don't know what your using too hold all of this together I can't post any more links or info until you reply answering my questions.

If you have no idea what I am 50% talking about or more. Then you mite need to do some basic coding. HTML although its for websites it can help you get a grasp on the programming world or you can do C++ using the console. Then move on into some Win32 windows or C# and work your way up.