• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
erdrick22

Advice on a starting point

This topic is 3884 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am looking for some advice on a starting point to increase my game development knowledge. I finished my college degree about ten years ago and since then I have had a decent career as a business applications programmer. I have a few C++ courses under my belt but have not used the language in years. I have finished a few small/simple 2D demos but never went any farther due to a lack of motivation, friends who were interested in helping out, access to knowledgeable help, etc. I want to get back on the wagon and give game development another shot so I am looking for advice on where to begin Some ideas I had are: 1.) Take a few gameinstitute.com courses (I have already paid for a few but have not finished them) 2.) Download an engine (Ogre?) and start playing around with it 3.) Go to a community college and take some math courses In the short term I would like to learn something that will stay relevant or that I could possibly use as a springboard to a career change if I am successful and stay with it. I'm looking for something that I can do successfully and make some steady progress on that will keep me motivated. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
So what language do you use for business applications? If its Java or C# or VB.NET, you might want to just stick with that. Pickup OpenGL bindings or XNA respectively and dabble a little bit with something simple. Tetris, space invaders, asteroids... Just something to bridge the gap from the knowledge you have to the new application.

Then expand into where you want to go, graphics demos if that's what you want. AI demos if that's what you want. Pickup a framework and work on an indie game if you want.

Quote:
Original post by Telastyn