• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Falconite

Decals on Cloth

This topic is 3962 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey Guys, I've been thinking of implementing decals on clothing. Basically, my character models have 'rough' polygony clothing on them. I need a way to add decals on certain areas of the cloth.(Like a logo on the arm, nike logo on the chest, etc). I may also like to extend this to be on other areas of the model as well and not just cloth(like scar on the face..etc). I've no experience on how to do this. Can anyone point me out to articles or give me a lead on how I may be able to go about it. Thanks. -Ken

Advertisement
Decals on a rigid surface are easy, just put a polygon on the surface with the decal texture (e.g. bullet hole in wall) However, for moving geometry, you can use a variety of methods. You can have one texture, read only, for the base image, and then apply a second texture, on the top, which can be edited and have data added. This texture is updated every time a decal is added to the object. The texture is then texture mapped at the same time as the static one.

So, if your character can be shot and have bullet holes in him, use one texture for his clothing, and one texture for the decals. When a polygon is hit, find the corresponding coordinates for that position on the dynamic texture, and add a hole. You can save processing power by having the decals symmetrical in outline, and not worrying about rotating it when it is added to the dynamic texture.