• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
BrianInSuwon

Spell Casting Visual 3D Effects

This topic is 3819 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to game design. I understand that programs like 3ds Max and Maya are used to create 3d models and character animations for games. I've also used level editors to create terrains, place light and models, add texture, and add AI paths. So here is my question, in some rpgs when characters/enemies/npcs are selected a colored light/ring will appear on the ground or under the character when a spell is cast and nice visual/light animations occur when a spell is cast and even when a sword is swung you will see a light "trail". So, how are these light effects made/programmed?

Advertisement
Thanks for the google term to search. I've spent some time searching the internet to learn more about particle systems. Most examples involve making fires or smoke. Do I need to learn a programming language indepth to use this type of system or is there a way to use it in a level editor. I've seen it used in level editors to make a fire but not to cast a spell. I've researched alot of game engines (most have a particle system listed as a feature) but all of them seem to be lacking in the area of tutorials. I don't mind learning the coding behind it; it would just help if there was a serious of tutorials from easy to advanced that I could work on. The only code I've seen for particles is rather complex.

I have a feeling its not the engine thats confusing you but most likely your understanding of what the particals and partical systems are.