• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ashmantle

Learning C++, what's the syntax?!

This topic is 3792 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone! I finally joined this forum after being a lurker for a long time. I've known about these forums for years and have often read through the articles for tips on how to do algorithms. I've programmed in many languages, but BlitzBasic extensively, and lately I've worked in ActionScript 3 and Flex for work related projects. Oh and I'm not an English native speaker, so please give me a shout if I need to clarify anything :) Now to my question. I recently started learning C++ through books and 3DBuzz's excellent C++ VTM's, but it just stomps me sometimes when they cover something that seems to break the C++ syntax. A good example is double pointers.. I feel like I grasp the concept of pointers, but suddenly they throw in another asterisk and just assume that I understand that as well. Did the char **pName just become a new pointer to a pointer of type char? or is it a preprocessor directive? or is it an operator of all base types? Stuff like this confuses me. Then there's []. I understand arrays, but is the double brackets here a keyword for 'Array' or a preprocessor keyword? To clarify, I understand the *p usage, but not the 'delete [] m_buffer' usage. Don't get me started on <>'s. I can't find any information about them in the C++ language references I've read, but they're all over the source code I've seen. You have them in include statements, but sometimes I've seen "" been used instead? You have them in the middle of operator overloading functions, for example when 3DBuzz tried to explain how to overload the << stream operator, they threw all the syntax I had learned and understand out the window and riddled the statements with all kinds of brackets. a good example is the std::li