• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
solinent

OpenGL Seperate vertex and normal indices (glDrawElements)

This topic is 3841 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm having a new problem now: please look to post #7 I am loading from OBJ files (because of simplicity, I am new to opengl, and even 3d), to display a decently complex model (about 45k triangles). Now, and OBJ file stores a vertex like so: v x y z ie. v 1.0 0.0 -1.0232 where v identifies it is a vertex, and x y and z are the co-ordinates. Later, is specifies indices to draw faces with: f 1 2 3 This would draw a face with the first three vertices. This is all straightforward. However, when I export an obj model using blender, there is a different number of vertices than vertex normals, presumably because of lines rather than faces. I wish TO GET RID of these lines, but not using blender. However, there is a different corresponding index for a face between a vertex and a normal. This is stored like so: vn x y z (for a normal) f 1//2 2//3 3//1 This is just an example, but as you can see, the vertex index of one vertex of a face do not correspond with the normal's index. This is all fine: I simply store them in seperate arrays with seperate indices. However, to prevent duplication, I want to use glDrawElements, which only accepts one indice paramater. I'm just asking what I can do, or will I have to parse the data furhter so that the indices correspond (which may take alot of processing power, and I can't get my head around that for some reason). I'm sure this has been asked before, but couldn't find anything with some quick searches. [Edited by - solinent on February 9, 2008 8:14:36 PM]

Advertisement