New designer... NEED HELP!!!

Started by
6 comments, last by IronHawk0131 16 years, 2 months ago
ok guys... I'm new to designing video games and I'm not old enough to start college... I haven't finished high school yet... anyway... I would like to start designing a game that I have already come up with but I can't seem to find a program that will let me do that... I figure I will have to buy one but I don't know where to look or what will work for what I need... somebody please point me in the right direction... PLEASE!!!
Advertisement
Hmm, well you don't need a program in order to design a game, all you need for that is a paper/pencil and some creative thinking. A Design usually involves a list and descriptions of how things will work in the game, what does what, how it will look, storyline, etc. Such a document is otherwise known as a GDD or Game Design Document, some links here may prove useful.

Now for making a game you'll need a Compiler of some sort. There are alot of programs around you could use, for example GameMaker which uses simple scripting to make 2D games (or some ultra basic 3D if your creative). There are other programs that require you to learn a Programming Language, of which there are a number.

The differences between languages is more in their difficulty to learn/use and how powerful they are, with the more difficult being the more powerful. A good language i've heard to start off with is Python, or you could try C++ with SDL, opinions on which languages to use often vary depending on who you ask, so learn abit about them and go with what your comfortable with.