Sign in to follow this  

lib3ds little problem

This topic is 3597 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! I'm new to lib3ds, but I've menaged somehow to overcome pointers etc. etc.... the only thing that doesn't seem to work is animation of the object. Maybe someone could help me? void displaymodel() { checkkeys(); glPushMatrix(); glScalef(0.16f,0.16f,0.16f); glRotatef(-90,1,0,0); glColor3f(1,0,0); lib3ds_file_eval(file,frame); frame++; if (frame==file->frames) frame=0; Lib3dsMesh *m; for (m=file->meshes;m!=0;m=m->next) { for(int p=0;p<m->faces;p++) { Lib3dsFace *f=&m->faceL[p]; glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES); glNormal3fv(f->normal); for (int i=0; i<3; ++i) { glVertex3fv(m->pointL[f->points[i]].pos); } glEnd(); } } glPopMatrix(); }

mmhm. In 3dsmax I've created animation for one object - box01. Other are not transformed in any way.

I thought that lib3ds_file_eval will animate all objects...

Sorry what I mean is - are you trying to do things like alter the model, or just move it about?

• If you are merely trying to move it about the safest thing to do is make the model in the modelling software, export it then do the animation from your software.
• If you are trying to move components of model about such as a human - the easiest is to load the limbs all separately and again put the movement instructions in your own software.

Exporting the animation information of a .max file into a .3ds one is problematic to start with. Then loading it into other software increases them several fold!

To really get to the bottom of it you need to look through the .3ds file your are loading and compare it with the specification, then see whether the animation bits are filled in, and if they are that your software is calling them (correctly).

Hope that helps.

Mmmmhm. I'm trying to move it about, or at least in think so :-)