Design Documentation

Started by
4 comments, last by NathanRunge 16 years, 2 months ago
I am unsure whether there is an easy answer already existing on this forum or website, so if there is I would be grateful if you could direct me. I am a student, currently studying 'Games and Interactive Entertainment' at Queensland University of Technology. I'm taking a year off for personal reasons, but I still want to work on achieving my goal of designing games professionally at some point in the future. I have a number of game ideas in my head, which I believe would make quite good games. They're all reasonable and feasible ideas... if you're a Games Development company. They're (mostly) completely beyond my ability to produce on my own, or even with a team of volunteers. However, I feel it'd be good way to develop the skills I'll one day need, and hopefully show as work demonstrations at some point, if I fleshed them out in the form of documents. I think I could easily write hundreds of pages on a number of them in terms of setting, narrative/backstory, feel, general gameplay, specific menu designs, game-play design, algorithms, basically all the ideas involved. I would, of course, only be writing for the purposes of writing and improving myself. However, here comes the question/problem. Having no experience in an actual development team, I'm not really capable of estimating costs and timelines and technical requirements. I know that MOST of them are achievable on today's technology, and I know how to write up cost estimates, hardware prices... but the details would all be guess-work. The question I wish to ask is firstly, would it be a good idea to write these documents, assuming I have the time? Secondly, how should I write them? Should I attempt a Concept Document, Game Proposal and then Game Design Document? Or should I, perhaps, combine a Concept Document and a Design Document minus most of the technical side? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.