Sign in to follow this  

Some help for an absolute beginner

This topic is 3591 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there im new here and new to game development so many apologies for my dumb questions. Im going to be studying a masters degree in sound and music for interactive games next year. Going to be getting to grips with FMOD, Wwise, the Unreal Engine and prototyping some interactive engines in MaxMSP. What i would like to do is begin teaching myself some of the basics of game development so i can start developing my own games (be they basic or otherwise). Im just a little confused about programming languages and i hope someone here can clear up a couple of things for me. I've decided I'll be working towards learning C# and then using XNA to get some quick results as i understand the framework of XNA is C#. This should get me going before learning any more complex languages such as C++. What i've become confused by is the number of languages with extra bits in their name! For example, what is Microsoft Visual C# and how does it differ from C#? I think i understand the difference but i want a more expert opinion just to clarify things. Do i need both C# and Visual C# to get any meaningful results? Then there's C#.NET - again how does this differ from C# and Visual C#? Is it required for game development. From what i understand they are all part of the C# programming language as a whole, but essentially they all do different things. I assume the same theory applies for C++, Visual C++ and C++.NET? Part of the C++ language but all doing different things. Anyway, help is very much appreciated and i hope to provide some helpful input for the forum in the future. Stefan