• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ronnie TRFC

Help with java NullPointerException Needed!

This topic is 3955 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm having trouble with the java.lang.NullPointerException runtime error. I'm new to java programming and hope someone may be able to help. I get the error when i attempt to delete a element from a list. Here are two portions of the code that i believe are contributing to the error:
// Here i delete element 0 off the list if conditions are met.

if (command == word1Command) {
// write pre-action user code here

// write post-action user code here
if (stringWord1.getLayout() ==(Item.LAYOUT_CENTER))
{
stringWord1.setLayout(Item.LAYOUT_LEFT);
wordList.delete(0); // <---- This is when i get the error
tPlayer1++;
oPlayer1++;
}
}

// Here's the code for the list which comes after the previous code segment

public List getWordList() {
if (wordList == null) {
// write pre-init user code here
wordList = new List("Ataddin", Choice.IMPLICIT);
wordList.append(Word1, null);
wordList.append(Word2, null);
wordList.append(Word3, null);
wordList.append(Word4, null);
wordList.append(Word5, null);
wordList.append(Word6, null);
wordList.append(Word7, null);
wordList.append(Word8, null);
wordList.append(Word9, null);
wordList.append(Word10, null);
wordList.setCommandListener(this);
wordList.setSelectedFlags(new boolean[] { false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false });
// write post-init user code here
}
return wordList;
}

Thanks in advance and any questions just ask as i'm getting so frustrated at the mo. I'm using Netbeans IDE 6 and J2ME. Thank you.

Advertisement