Sign in to follow this  

Phun - a 2D physics playground

This topic is 3564 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Phun is an application for creating 2D simulations of physics. It has a cartoony feel to it and is simple and fun to use! Check out this video to see what it's all about: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H5g9VS0ENM I have been developing Phun for the past six months as my Master of Science thesis, and now it's time to reveal it to the public. Phun is completely cross-platform, it's written in C++ and uses OpenGL for rendering. It also uses SDL (for window management and input), SDL_image (for reading images), GLEW (for OpenGL extension management), boost and boost_filesystem. I use no external physics engine or GUI library. Download Phun here: www.acc.umu.se/~emilk/ (Windows and Linux, soon MacOS) The program is still in Beta, so expect it to crash at least once for you. But don't worry, it has autosave. If you don't trust the autosave, just use ctrl-s a lot. Please let me know what you think of it! - Emil Ernerfeldt Update: I just released beta 3. Hopefully this will run on more computers. [Edited by - emilk on February 19, 2008 6:11:33 PM]

Quote:
Original post by emilk
I use no external physics engine or GUI library.

After watching the video, I'm amazed that you did all of that yourself! That's quite impressive. Have you thought about releasing your own physics library or GUI library?

The game crashes for me at startup. The logfile says:

15:11:50: Application created
15:11:50: Parsing autoexec.cfg...
15:11:50: Creating window...
15:11:50: Destroying GL resources
15:11:51: Loading all resources...
15:11:51: Destroying GL resources
15:11:51: Creating GL resources
15:11:51: Reloading class rendering::Texture
15:11:51: Reloading class rendering::Shader

And the last line in the console window says "Creating window..."