Sign in to follow this  

How to learn a new programming Language

This topic is 3591 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am an experienced Java developer for 3 years and I want to learn C++, however, I want to really understand the inner working of the C++ Language. Now there are 2 ways to learn a programming language: 1. Get a good book and ready it cover to cover and work all the practice examples programs in there. 2. Work on a reasonable size project that requires you to code. When I learned Java, I was in university and was required to read and do labs. However, as a professional developer, finding the time to read through the C++ Primer isn't exactly a feasible option. Can you give your opinion between option 1 & 2 above as to which is better? Thanks.

With Java being very similar to C++ generally speaking picking up a good book which covers some lower level C and C++ programming should have you ramped up in no time. A good exercise would then be to convert a smaller Java based application over to C++ as you gain additional knowledge to confirm you are understanding the material as you go.

This is of course just my opinion as I took C while in high-school and self-taught myself C++ before I got to college. There I took a good number of courses on C++ and basically built on top of what I already knew so I had somewhat of a head start. As our first semester covered a course in Java I found it incredibly easy to make the transition between the two particularly with respect to OOP.