Sign in to follow this  

pygame.image.load and os.path.join?

This topic is 3590 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a noob so please bare with me. I have tried using pygame.image.load and I have tried using os.path.join. I used the same code as in the tutorials that I have been reading and I cannot get an image to load. The example code I am using is as follows: >>>import pygame, os, sys >>>from pygame.locals import* >>>pygame.init() (6,o) >>>window=pygame.display.set_mode((468, 60)) >>>screen=pygame.display.get_surface() >>>monkey_head_file_name=os.path.join("data","chimp.bmp") >>>print monkey_head_file_name data\chimp.bmp >>>monkey_surface=pygame.image.load(monkey_head_file_name) Traceback (most recent call last): File "<pyshell#1>", line 1, in -toplevel- monkey_surface=pygame.image.load(monkey_head_file_name) error: Couldn't open data\chimp.bmp Even if I try using my own images I still get the same error. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

Let's say your script is named chimp.py and is stored in a directory C:\Documents and Settings\mbarb\My Documents\Chimp1\. For your code to work, your image needs to be located at:
C:\Documents and Settings\mbarb\My Documents\Chimp1\data\chimp.bmp

The part that is underlined above is the relative path from where your script is located - it's like directions that say "how do I get to there from here?"

Once you have that set up right, your program will work.

Thank you both very much. I thought that might be it but I'm having a problem figuring out how to do that. I've looked through lots of tutorials and that's the code they give but they don't explain how to set it up. So I guess that's my next question. How do I change the directory?

Quote:
Original post by mbarb