Sign in to follow this  

Suggestions for Beginner Game Programmer

This topic is 3571 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everybody. I am a computer science engineering student ( Istanbul/TURKEY =) and I will graduate this term. I want to make a 3D game for my graduation project. So far I have had experience in openGL with c++ and Virtual Reality Modelling Language (vrml). (also this term I will be learning EON studio and 3D studio max.) I have a few questions. 1)To avoid extra work of modelling and animation I have thought to make a racing game, since there wont be any human modelling. Only cars and rotating wheels. Is the way I think right? or anybody has other suggestions? (I like RTS RPG and FPS games indeed.) 2)I currently know openGL only. And I coded openGL in only C language. (you can download my little 3d world from www.orenapart.com/deneme/kardanadam.rar www.orenapart.com/deneme/bounce.rar =) Do you suggest me to learn directX? Should I code in directX or openGL? Why, why not? I have only 3 months for this project to be completed. 3)So far I only modelled 3D objects with coding. I also know a little bit 3D studio max. What program do you suggest me to model 3d objects. Can I export those objects for my game written in c++ with openGL or directX? 4)I have examined other people's games and they usually say that they are using OGRE or some other 3D graphic engine with some physics engine like AGEIA or NEWTON. A few people also used in-house built physics engines. What do you suggest me to do? What exactly a graphic and physics engine do? If I use a physics engine, do I avoid any coding for game physics? Are they all ready to use? (I know very little about the engines). Anyone can suggest any engine for me to learn and use? Or may I build a game without any engine? Also people use shaders. Why do I need them? Which o