Tic Tac Toe app problem with AI

Started by
4 comments, last by Nitin TPs 16 years, 2 months ago
Hello. I just started programming a Tic Tac Toe game on the GNU GCC C++ code::blocks IDE. There is a slight problem with the AI, however. The computer makes a move and repeats it all game long (i think). Can you have a look at the code and tell me about what i did wrong? Thanks in advance! Oh and you'll need two headers dpl.h and max.h which are in the rar. Apart from this you need the conio.h (old one). I've used funcs like gotoxy() and clrscr():) The headers are required IF you'll compile the project. code: http://rapidshare.com/files/93570852/Tic_Tac_Toe.rar.html
- dF repping The Pill studios
Advertisement
Usually posts like this ("here's my source code, fix it please!") don't get very many responses. You'll probably have better luck if you can ask specific questions. For example, instead of uploading your entire source code, you could have just posted the "CalculateMove" function if your problem is the AI.
(Also, if you post source code, you can use [ source ] tags to format it)

First, some comments on your style:

You should never use absolute paths in include directives!
#include "D:\d\codes\dev_open_free\Tic Tac Toe\header\TicTacToeEngine.h"

It should be:
#include "header\TicTacToeEngine.h"

Also, TicTacToeEngine.h is full of function definitions. That is a bad thing.
You should only have the function prototypes in the header, e.g.:
void DrawBoard(const string cMovesDone);

And then put the function implementation in a cpp file:
void DrawBoard(const string cMovesDone)
{
}

If you try to include that header in more than one cpp file you will find out why it is a bad thing (you will get linker errors).

As to what is actually wrong with CalculateMove; the first problem I can see is that it is possible for all of your if's and else-if's to be false, in which case you're going to return an un-initialised value!