Sign in to follow this  
davidr

OpenGL GL_MODELVIEW matrix confusion

davidr    122
Hi, I have some experience with Direct3D, but I'm new to OpenGL. I'm having problems drawing a cube at an arbitrary location in the world. I managed to get things working using gluLookAt, but I'd prefer to create the view matrix myself then multiply it by the current objects world matrix e.g. glLoadMatrixd( camera.viewMatrix() * object.worldMatrix() ); So, the current setup is the object is located at the origin, with: right vector = <1, 0, 0> up vector = <0, 1, 0> look vector = <0, 0, -1> The camera is located at <0, 0, 10>. Its right, up, and look vectors are identical to the object (I'm not doing any rotations at the moment). The view matrix created by Camera::viewMatrix is:
"[         1,          0,          0,          0]
[         0,          1,          0,          0]
[         0,          0,         -1,        -10]
[         0,          0,          0,          1]" 

const GLdouble* Camera_Class::View_Matrix(void)
{
	if (m_View_Matrix_Dirty == false) 
	{
		return m_View_Matrix;
	}

// Row 1
	m_View_Matrix[0] = m_Right_Vector[0];
	m_View_Matrix[1] = m_Right_Vector[1];
	m_View_Matrix[2] = m_Right_Vector[2];
	m_View_Matrix[3] = -1.0 * (m_Position_Vector * m_Right_Vector);
	// Row 2
	m_View_Matrix[4] = m_Up_Vector[0];
	m_View_Matrix[5] = m_Up_Vector[1];
	m_View_Matrix[6] = m_Up_Vector[2];
	m_View_Matrix[7] = -1.0 * (m_Position_Vector * m_Up_Vector);
	// Row 3
	m_View_Matrix[8] = m_Look_Vector[0];
	m_View_Matrix[9] = m_Look_Vector[1];
	m_View_Matrix[10] = m_Look_Vector[2];
	m_View_Matrix[11] = -1.0 * (m_Position_Vector * m_Look_Vector);
	// Row 4
	m_View_Matrix[12] = 0.0;
	m_View_Matrix[13] = 0.0;
	m_View_Matrix[14] = 0.0;
	m_View_Matrix[15] = 1.0;

m_View_Matrix_Dirty = false;

return m_View_Matrix;
}

Here is the paint function:
void OpenGL_Widget_Class::paintGL(void)
{
	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

glLoadMatrixd(m_Camera.View_Matrix());

glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);