• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
JasonBaldwin

Creating UI Library for games - How would you want it to be

This topic is 3797 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm still new to programming games and i thought a good project would be to write a UI library to be used in games. I want it to stick to these contstraints:
  • Easily customizable - thinking of making a visual editor
  • Rendered with either OpenGL or DirectX. (If not then is there some way of rendering without using those API's so that it doesnt matter what API the user is using?)
  • Easily Extendible so you can make extra controls or something to that extent
Also what controls would be useful to you? So far I've come up with:
  • Button
  • List Box
  • Check Box
  • Radio Box
  • Check Group
  • Radio Group
  • Progress Bar
  • Static Text
  • Static Image
  • Slider
If there are any others you want just say. To implement all of this I've decided to use OOP and c++. I'm going to make each widget inherited from a "Widget" class. I'm not that good at making design choices so any ideas on how to structure this library? How do i write it so you can customize things and extend them? Thanks in advance for your help

Advertisement
Some form of component-based design (possibly with facets/mixin/properties instead of only having properties in component) could be better in this matter than the general inheritance approach.
Anyways, this is the approach that I have pursued with my own little user-interface subsystem, and it looks quite easily extensible and flexible so far, although I have not implemented any of it yet (still working on higher prioritized subsystems).

Quote:
Original post by JasonBaldwin
I'm still new to programming games and i thought a good project would be to write a UI library to be used in games.

I want it to stick to these contstraints: